Jefferson County

Jefferson County was created by the Alabama legislature on December 13, 1819. It was carved out of Blount County and named in honor of Thomas Jefferson, the third president of the United States.

Located in the north-central portion of the state, Jefferson County is the center of the iron, coal and limestone belt of the South.

Jefferson County is Alabama’s most populous county and the principal center of finance, trade, manufacturing, transportation, healthcare and education in the state. Birmingham, the state’s largest city, and 35 other municipalities are located here.

The county seat was at Carrollsville from 1819-1821, at Elyton from 1821-1873, and since 1873 has been at Birmingham.



About our Company

Copyright ©2005 Town Square Publications