contentsFremont CA Chamberads


Citizens of Fremont elect the city council, which includes the mayor and four council members. The council adopts the city budget, and makes all major policy decisions. The city council appoints a city manager who hires all city staff and manages the day-to-day business.

The city of Fremont is responsible for services such as: public safety, land use regulation, infrastructure maintenance, parks and recreation, local social service, garbage collection and recycling. The city of Fremont provides all of these services directly, except garbage collection and recycling; the city contracts out to a private contractor for those services.

The Fremont Fire Department provides fire protection, prevention, rescue and emergency medical services. The Fremont Police Department is responsible for the safeguarding of citizen lives and property, the preservation of constitutional rights and neighborhood problem solving. The department provides a Neighborhood Crime Watch program and operates a volunteer program.


Mayor – Gus Morrison — (510) 284-4011
Vice Mayor Anu Natarajan — (510) 284-4082
Councilmember Suzanne Lee Chan — (510) 284-4081
Councilmember Dominic Dutra — (510) 284-4084
Councilmember Bill Harrison — (510) 284-4083
City Manager, Fred Diaz — (510) 494-4800
City Clerk — (510) 494-4621
Fire Department (non-emergency) — (510) 494-4285
Police Department (non-emergency) — (510) 790-6800

County Supervisor District 1 Scott Haggerty — (510) 795-2525
Voter Registration — (800) 834-6454

Governor Edmund G. Brown, Jr. — (916) 445-2841
Senator Ellen M. Corbet 10th Senate District — (510) 577-2310
Bob Wieckowski 20th Assembly District — (510) 440-9030
Mary Hayashi 18th Assembly District — (510) 583-8818

U.S. Senator Dianne Feinstein District Office — (415) 393-0707
U.S. Senator Barbara Boxer District Office — (415) 403-0100
Fortney “Pete” Stark 13th U.S. Congressional District
(510) 494-1388

previous topic
next topic
Town Square Publications