Originally inhabited by the Ute and Arapahoe Indian tribes, current-day Kremmling welcomed its original pioneers in the early 1860s. The premier business in the area was established by Jimmy Crawford, in a cave located on the banks of the Muddy River in 1873-1874. Crawford eventually moved to the Steamboat Springs area, allowing for Rudolph Kremmling, a Dillon native, to settle in the cave in 1874. Hailed as a retail businessman, Kremmling opened a trading post here to serve those traveling west.
Land plats began to spring up in September of 1891, with the town name chosen as Kinsey, after John and Aaron Kinsey. The adoption of the moniker Kremmling came soon after in 1895 in honor of Rudolph Kremmling. By 1900, Kremmling’s populace increased to 270, a number that continued to grow, due in large part to the area’s excellent ranch land and the advent of the soon-to-come Denver Northwest Pacific Railroad, which reached Kremmling in June of 1906. The town was officially incorporated in 1904.
Local ranchers established the Grand County Fair in October of 1912, a tradition that lives on today as the Middle Park Fair and Rodeo — a major regional event.
Step back in time by taking a walk through Historic Kremmling, where patrons can view 65 rustic buildings constructed between 1885 and 1913. Prominent sites on this self-guided tour include the Kremmling Club (1906), the Red Barn (1906), Kremmling’s premier schoolhouse (1898), the Tyler House (1901), the Community Church (1913), the Hatchery, the Gore View Hotel (1905), the Bank of Kremmling (1905), the Log Cabin Livery Stable (1903) and St. Peter’s Catholic Church (1907).