Every story has a beginning, middle and end. The Ute and Arapahoe Indian tribes originally inhabited Kremmling, until the early 1860s when the rush to mine gold, silver and lead brought pioneers out West. Jimmy Crawford established the first business in a cave on the banks of the Muddy River in 1873-74. Crawford eventually moved on to the Steamboat Springs area allowing Rudolph Kremmling, a Dillon native to set up shop in the cave in 1884 where he served settlers headed West.
Kremmling later moved his business to its present location (now the Dan Hoare Village Smithy building north of the Town Square), and established the first post office in 1885. Land plats began to spring up in September of 1891, with the town name chosen as Kinsey, after John and Aaron Kinsey and soon after in 1895 the adoption of the moniker Kremmling. By 1900 Kremmling had increased its population to 270 and eventually became incorporated in 1904. The prospects of good ranch land and the Denver, Northwestern & Pacific railway that would make its way through Kremmling in 1906 made it an ideal location to settle down. By that time eight to nine saloons served as “necessary” additions for the town. In October of 1912 local ranchers established the Grand County Fair, a tradition that still continues today as the Middle Park Fair & Rodeo.
Now that we have the beginning of our story it’s difficult to determine what’s the middle because the end has yet to be written—we can only live in the present. Visitors have the opportunity to step back in time and take a walk through Historic Kremmling, where patrons can view 65 rustic buildings constructed between 1885 and 1913. A “must see” for the historically inclined.