Since its founding in 1902 by the Rt. Rev. James B. Funsten, St. Luke's Wood River Medical Center has been committed to serving the needs of a growing region. Over the years, the community has responded with a strong, local commitment to the medical center. As the demand for health care has grown, so has the scope of St. Luke's services. Once a simple, six-bed hospital, St. Luke's is now Idaho's largest healthcare provider, with three full-service hospitals and more than 25 outpatient treatment facilities and clinics. With 600 physicians and 4,200 employees, we serve more than 325,000 patients each year from throughout Idaho and the six adjoining states.

graphicTo help enhance medical services for people in our outlying communities, St. Luke's has forged a variety of partnerships and affiliations with other health care facilities in our region. From McCall to Challis, St. Luke's provides assistance with everything from administrative duties to onsite clinical care.

During the mid-1960s, St. Luke's participated in a planning study, which identified the healthcare concerns of the growing community. As a result of this study, we became the region's leading center for cancer, cardiac, and women and children's services. Sophisticated centers of excellence in each of these four areas were established, assuring that a full range of diagnostic and therapeutic services, plus specialized physician care, would be available to serve the region.

Over the years, St. Luke's has been nationally recognized for our high quality of care. Most recently, we have received the Consumer Choice Award, which honors those hospitals consumers choose as having the best overall quality, best doctors and nurses as well as the best image and reputation.

In addition, in 2001, St. Luke's was designated by the American Nurses Credentialing Center as the 39th Magnet Hospital in the nation. The only hospital in Idaho to merit such distinction, St. Luke's shares this distinguished award with some of the finest hospitals in the country, including Cedars-Sinai in Los Angeles and Mayo-Rochester, Rochester, Minnesota. The gold standard for nursing services, the Magnet Award recognizes hospitals for nursing excellence and quality patient care.

Next Topic

Previous Topic


Community Profile Network, Inc. &, Inc.

About our Company

Copyright ©2002-2003 Community Profile Network, Inc.

Town Square Publications and Builder Profile are trademarks of, Inc.

This Site is a Cyberworks Media Group Production