contentsChannahon-Minooka IL Chamberads


Committed to providing area students with a strong foundation for lifelong learning are two local public school districts, Channahon School District 17 and Minooka Community Consolidated School District 201.

Those residing within Channahon attend Channahon School District 17, comprised of four excellent facilities: Pioneer Path (grade K-1), N.B. Galloway Elementary School (grades 2-4), Three Rivers School (grades 5-6) and Channahon Jr. High School (grades 7-8). The district’s curriculum and extracurricular offerings are productive and geared toward fostering the academic, physical and social development of enrolled students.

Minooka Community Consolidated School District 201 serves the majority of public school students in the community. Nearly 4,000 students attend the district’s four facilities, which includes: Minooka Elementary School (grade K-3), Walnut Trails Elementary School (grade K-5), Minooka Intermediate School (grades 4-5) and Minooka Jr. High School (grades 6-8).

The greater part of students in both Channahon and Minooka attend the Minooka Community High School District 111. Minooka Community High School affords a range of academic programs to its diversified student base such as expanded programs in the fine arts, computer technology, business education, industrial technology, media communication and agriculture/horticulture.

More than 20 different varsity-level athletic programs, plus a variety of co-curricular and extracurricular activities including honor societies, student government, drama and band, are available at Minooka Community High School.

Founded in 1901 as the nation’s first public community college, Joliet Junior College (JJC) offers pre-baccalaureate programs for students planning to transfer to a four-year university. A comprehensive community college, JJC provides occupational education leading directly to employment, adult education and literacy programs, workforce development services and student support services.Also located in Joliet, the University of St. Francis offers nearly 4,000 students each year more than 38 undergraduate areas of study with four bachelor’s degree-completion programs and 13 graduate programs. On-site and online learning is offered.

Nearby Romeoville is home to the state’s ninth-largest private university, Lewis University. Lewis University continues to provide students with excellent opportunities for learning through more than 80 undergraduate majors, 22 graduate programs and a number of accelerated programs for the area’s working adults. Lewis University also offers courses at five additional campuses spread throughout the Chicagoland area including its Shorewood campus, located at the corner of Route 52 and Route 59. The 8,000-square-foot facility is equipped with six classrooms, a conference room, a computer lab and a student lounge.

Additional colleges and universities found within a short distance of the Channahon-Minooka area include the University of Illinois, Illinois State University, Bradley University and Northern and Western Illinois Universities.

previous topic
next topic
Town Square Publications