contentsJoliet IL Chamberads

City Government

Joliet, the seat of government for Will County, is a home-rule city that operates under the council-manager form of government. A nine-member City Council – composed of a mayor and eight councilmen and councilwomen – determines all matters of local policy and legislation. Day-to-day operations and other administrative duties are carried out or delegated by an appointed city manager.

The city presents a number of high-quality public services to the residents and businesses of Joliet. Among the many city departments are Community & Economic Development, Utilities, Public Works, Forestry and Public Safety through the Joliet Fire Department and Joliet Police Department. In addition, several boards and commissions composed of city leaders and involved residents are offered. The Committee on Citizens with Disabilities, Joliet Historic Preservation Commission, Community Design Review Board and City of Joliet Land Use Committee are all highly active civic groups.

For more information on the City of Joliet and its many programs and services, contact City Hall:

150 W. Jefferson St.
(815) 724-4000 •
Hours: 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

previous topic
next topic
Town Square Publications