The Village of Mundelein boasts a long and rich history. The first known immigrant was Peter Shaddle, who built a log cabin on what are now the grounds of St. Mary of the Lake Seminary in 1835. In 1921, Archbishop (soon to be Cardinal) George Mundelein of Chicago bought the property and authorized the construction of St. Mary of the Lake Seminary. The Village changed its name in 1924 in recognition of Cardinal Mundelein’s success with the new seminary. In thanks, the Cardinal donated to the Village its first new fire truck upon completion of the Village Hall in 1929.
Mundelein has been developing steadily and productively through the decades, building diverse housing opportunities to meet the needs of a growing population and adding new commercial and business opportunities to service the area. Downtown redevelopment has been planned with the primary objective of providing an appropriate mix of uses that offer a vibrant, safe, attractive and pedestrian environment. Mundelein has remained a family friendly community with municipal services that are second-to-none. The Village provides fire and police protection, water delivery, wastewater treatment, building inspection, engineering design and inspection, street maintenance and economic development assistance.