Paris, IL Chamber


Paris, IL Government

Paris is governed under the Commission form of municipal government. A mayor and four commissioners make up the City Council and are elected citywide on a non-partisan basis to serve four-year terms. All other city officials and employees are appointed. The five members of the City Council individually supervise various operating departments.

Paris is the county seat of Edgar County. Heading the county government is the Edgar County Board of seven members, elected for four-year terms on a partisan basis from seven equal population districts in the county. County officials also are elected to four-year terms, including the County Clerk, Circuit Clerk, Sheriff, State’s Attorney, Treasurer and Coroner. Appointed county officials include the County Engineer (highway maintenance) and Supervisor of Assessments. Most county offices are located in the Edgar County Courthouse, which is listed on the National Register of Historic buildings, in the center of the Courthouse Square. The courthouse has an annex office building on the west side of the square, the Edgar County Jail a block north of the square, and the Edgar County Highway Department on Springfield Ave.

The Paris Fire Department is a full-time force with 16 firefighters and the latest in technology and equipment, including a thermal imaging camera. The department has a cooperative agreement with the Paris Community Fire Protection District, one of the largest in the state with stations in four county locations as well as Paris. The Paris Fire Department has specialty teams consisting of:  hazardous material operations, dive rescue, basic life support/non transport, Illinois Terrorism Task Force Region 17 mass casualty/deacon, and educational programs. The programs include teaching fire prevention in schools, fall and fire prevention for senior citizens, fire and weather prevention safety, use of an electronic robot to teach small children about safety, fire extinguisher programs and first aid and CPR training.

The Edgar County Sheriff’s Department has headquarters at the county jail and operates with a staff of eight road patrol deputies and jail staff in addition to the sheriff. The Illinois State Police District 10, located in Pesotum, Illinois, provides state highway patrol for the county, and assists in special events, traffic control and drug investigation.

Edgar County operates an enhanced “911” Emergency Telephone System, with the primary dispatching center at the Edgar County Jail.

Twenty-four hour Advanced Life Support Paramedic emergency ambulance service is provided by Edgar County Special Service Area Ambulance Inc., at 1703 South Main. The company has a non-transport command vehicle used for off-road rescue. Communications:  Paris High School operates a cable channel station telecasting live sports and entertainment events, as well as public meetings.


Paris, IL Chamber

About our Company | Community Home Page | State Home Page

Copyright ©2007 Town Square Publications